Opened 6 years ago

Closed 6 years ago

#11520 closed defect (duplicate)

"clear all current history" is leaving some history intact

Reported by: Richard Owned by: mikeperry
Priority: Medium Milestone:
Component: TorBrowserButton Version:
Severity: Keywords:
Cc: Actual Points:
Parent ID: Points:
Reviewer: Sponsor:

Description

Some websites still know that you are the same user despite clearing the history and changing the connection externally (with Vidalia). The only solution is to get a "New Identity", which loses all your tabs and downloads.

Child Tickets

Change History (3)

comment:1 Changed 6 years ago by Richard

Component: - Select a componentTor
Keywords: tor-client tbb-3.0 tbb-helpdesk-frequent added

comment:2 Changed 6 years ago by nickm

Component: TorTorBrowserButton
Owner: set to mikeperry

comment:3 Changed 6 years ago by gk

Keywords: tor-client tbb-3.0 tbb-helpdesk-frequent removed
Resolution: duplicate
Status: newclosed

"New Identity" is the only secure way to do this. But there are suggestions to make it more user friendly, e.g. don't close all tabs if the user explicitly wants to do so. This is tracked in #9906 and #10400. Marking this as a duplicate of #9906.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.