Opened 4 years ago

Last modified 3 years ago

#17584 new defect

Disable bookmark backups (easy fix) (!)

Reported by: cypherpunks Owned by: tbb-team
Priority: High Milestone:
Component: Applications/Tor Browser Version:
Severity: Normal Keywords: tbb-easy, tbb-torbutton
Cc: Actual Points:
Parent ID: Points:
Reviewer: Sponsor:

Description

Tor browser shouldn't backup bookmarks at all and even when bookmarks are deleted, old backups remain in:

/Browser/TorBrowser/Data/Browser/profile.default/bookmarkbackups

Child Tickets

Change History (7)

comment:1 Changed 4 years ago by cypherpunks

Component: - Select a componentTor Browser
Owner: set to tbb-team

comment:2 Changed 3 years ago by cypherpunks

Priority: MediumHigh

Wanted to create a ticket for this as well, bumping instead, deleted bookmarks should not be kept without the user knowing it is kept.

I often delete bookmarks I don't consider relevant anymore, but knowing they're being backed up in Browser/TorBrowser/Data/Browser/profile.default/bookmarkbackups forces me to check that folder every few days and purge it.

EDIT: Can be disabled by setting browser.bookmarks.max_backups to 0 in about:config

Last edited 3 years ago by cypherpunks (previous) (diff)

comment:3 Changed 3 years ago by cypherpunks

Summary: Disable bookmark backupsDisable bookmark backups (easy fix) (!)
Type: defectenhancement

comment:4 Changed 3 years ago by cypherpunks

Type: enhancementdefect

What? Deleted bookmarks remain stored in "bookmarkbackups", why?

I've changed "browser.bookmarks.max_backups" to "0" in "about:config" for myself, like the comment above me says.

Is there a reason that this has been ignored for over 7 months? I mean come on, please fix this soon!

Thanks =)

comment:5 Changed 3 years ago by gk

Keywords: tbb-easy added

Binding this pref change to the option to disable Private Browsing Mode in Tor Browser (Don't record browsing history or website data (enabled Private Browsing Mode)) seems the way to go here. Patches are welcome!

comment:6 Changed 3 years ago by gk

Keywords: tbb-torbutton added

comment:7 Changed 3 years ago by cypherpunks

I'm not convinced that disabling bookmark backups is a good idea, but it might make sense to reduce the number of backups that are kept by default. It is entirely possible that the SQLite database can get corrupted, and if you're not manually backing up your bookmarks, you'd lose of all of them.

Tying this to private browsing mode doesn't make any sense to me, because bookmarks are kept regardless of this setting.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.