Opened 15 months ago

Last modified 14 months ago

#27483 new defect

Onboarding: dialog closure is effectively treated as "read", causing screen advancement

Reported by: dmr Owned by: tbb-team
Priority: Medium Milestone:
Component: Applications/Tor Browser Version:
Severity: Minor Keywords: tbb-8.0-issues, tbb-onboarding, ux-team
Cc: Actual Points:
Parent ID: Points:
Reviewer: Sponsor:

Description

For the first few screens in Onboarding:
Clicking anything outside the box in Onboarding closes the box AND appears to mark the current screen as "read", thus changing the Onboarding experience to pop up the next screen when someone opens it again. This could be bad if the user doesn't actually read the screen before that, and doesn't recognize the Onboarding flow and go back to that screen.

This seems to stop at "Circuit Display", probably because the "(not really) Next" button there does something other than advance the Onboarding screen.

Or maybe, alternatively, the first few screens are just auto-marked as "read". If that's the case, consider changing that to happen on button click / navigation.

(Encountered in TB 8.0)

Child Tickets

Change History (4)

comment:1 Changed 15 months ago by gk

Keywords: tbb-8.0-issues tbb-onboarding added; ff60-esr removed

comment:2 Changed 15 months ago by mcs

Some of the screens are indeed automatically marked as "completed." Firefox also uses this approach, but Firefox only allows navigation between panels via the left hand side buttons (which is the topic of #27484).

comment:3 Changed 15 months ago by antonela

yes, I experienced this bug and is still a bug also in FF. Not sure what is mcs plan here. I don't think this is prior tho.

comment:4 in reply to:  3 Changed 14 months ago by mcs

Replying to antonela:

yes, I experienced this bug and is still a bug also in FF. Not sure what is mcs plan here. I don't think this is prior tho.

I think this is working as the Firefox designers intended. The assumption is that the user read what was on the screen. We could disable automatic completion for onboarding steps such as Privacy but we would need another method to trigger completion. Another option would be to not trigger automatic completion until the onboarding panel has been open for some amount of time, e.g., 5 seconds.

Kathy and I would like to think more about this and not make any changes right now.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.