Opened 15 months ago

Last modified 9 months ago

#27592 new defect

TBA: 'Clear private data' option does not clear browsing history

Reported by: towiw3 Owned by: tbb-team
Priority: High Milestone:
Component: Applications/Tor Browser Version:
Severity: Major Keywords: tbb-mobile, tbb-disk-leak, tbb-parity
Cc: Actual Points:
Parent ID: Points:
Reviewer: Sponsor:

Description

Almost all visited URLs are saved in /data/data/org.torproject.torbrowser_alpha/files/mozilla/profile.default/browser.db-wal. Clearing private data from the settings or pressing the 'Quit' button does not delete that file. So basically all browsing history is still stored after clearing private data. After clearing private data in the settings, it does say that some private data could not be deleted but if 'Site settings' is unchecked, it doesn't say that anymore. So normally we'd think that only site settings are not cleared.

Child Tickets

Change History (3)

comment:1 Changed 15 months ago by towiw3

If that file should not be deleted, at least it should remove private data from it.

comment:2 Changed 12 months ago by gk

Keywords: tbb-disk-leak added
Priority: Very HighHigh

comment:3 Changed 9 months ago by gk

Keywords: tbb-parity added

tbb-parity items.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.