Opened 10 months ago

Closed 7 months ago

Last modified 3 months ago

#28708 closed defect (fixed)

TBA 8.5a5 - about:tor is not the default homepage after upgrade

Reported by: sysrqb Owned by: tbb-team
Priority: Medium Milestone:
Component: Applications/Tor Browser Version:
Severity: Normal Keywords: tbb-mobile, TBA-a3, TorBrowserTeam201902
Cc: igt0 Actual Points:
Parent ID: Points:
Reviewer: Sponsor: Sponsor8

Description

I'm preemptively opening this in case anyone wonders why this is happening.

This will be fixed with the next release, assuming #28685 is solved. The new preferences weren't copied because the app didn't detect it was updated because the buildid didn't change since the previous release. This was partially solved in #28640, but it wasn't entirely solved.

Child Tickets

TicketStatusOwnerSummaryComponent
#28685closedtbb-teamTor Browser for Android needs a more dynamic Build IDApplications/Tor Browser

Change History (8)

comment:1 Changed 10 months ago by gk

Keywords: TBA-a3 added

Setting tag for third Tor Browser for Android alpha milestone.

comment:2 Changed 10 months ago by gk

Sponsor: Sponsor8

Adding Sponsor8 tag.

comment:3 Changed 8 months ago by gk

Keywords: TorBrowserTeam201902 added

Adding to our radar.

comment:4 Changed 7 months ago by gk

Resolution: fixed
Status: newclosed

We are done here, I think.

Last edited 7 months ago by gk (previous) (diff)

comment:5 Changed 7 months ago by Ly_Si

yλe = eλe => yλ = eλ => y = e, λ ∊ Q, λ = E_term/m = E_term/(E_nucl/(c2)) = (c2)*E_term / E_nucl, λ ∊ R; λ > 0.

comment:6 Changed 7 months ago by Ly_Si

HYDRA

comment:7 Changed 3 months ago by ilf

It is intentional to reset the homepage to about:tor on every upgrade? As a user, I find this highly annoying, especially since "also use for new tabs" is *also* reset to enabled.

IMHO, if a user changes these values, an upgrade should not reset them. As TBB desktop does.

comment:8 in reply to:  7 Changed 3 months ago by gk

Replying to ilf:

It is intentional to reset the homepage to about:tor on every upgrade? As a user, I find this highly annoying, especially since "also use for new tabs" is *also* reset to enabled.

IMHO, if a user changes these values, an upgrade should not reset them. As TBB desktop does.

I agree this sounds like a bug. Could you open a new ticket? This one is closed for months and a slightly unrelated issue. Thanks!

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.