Opened 4 months ago

Last modified 4 months ago

#34008 new defect

User may choose to leave on page after using New Identity

Reported by: cypherpunks Owned by: tbb-team
Priority: Very High Milestone:
Component: Applications/Tor Browser Version:
Severity: Critical Keywords:
Cc: Actual Points:
Parent ID: Points:
Reviewer: Sponsor:

Description

If user uses New Identity but some tab asks are they sure to leave it, this tab remains open and user may choose to not leave.

New Tor Browser window opens but old one remains. I'm not sure whether this can be used to identify user or not.

Child Tickets

Change History (3)

comment:1 Changed 4 months ago by cypherpunks

k

Last edited 4 months ago by cypherpunks (previous) (diff)

comment:2 Changed 4 months ago by Thorin

I don't know about if the above scenario will cause a "leak" or potential ID'ing, but since Firefox is not closed, I doubt any sanitizing is done. dom.disable_beforeunload = true will disable "Confirm you want to leave" dialogs. It is default false in Firefox and Tor Browser.

[1] โ€‹https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/API/Window/beforeunload_event

comment:3 Changed 4 months ago by acat

It seems โ€‹Sanitizer.jsm handles this by doing a first pass to check if all windows/tabs are "fine" with being closed, and abort if not. We could do that for "New Identity", or just try to ignore onbeforeunload when closing windows.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.