Opened 6 years ago

Closed 4 months ago

#7535 closed defect (wontfix)

unable to delete line in torrc using advanced settings edit torrc

Reported by: mwolfe Owned by:
Priority: Medium Milestone: TorBrowserBundle 2.2.x-stable
Component: Archived/Vidalia Version: Vidalia: 0.2.20
Severity: Normal Keywords: edit torrc
Cc: Actual Points:
Parent ID: Points:
Reviewer: Sponsor:

Description

Sometimes, I wish to access resources only available from IP addresses in a different country from the one where I'm located. So, if the resource is limited to IP addresses in Ptomania, I add

Exitnodes {po}

to my torrc using the Advanced Settings editor.

After I finish, I'd like to remove the

Exitnodes {po} line from my torrc, but the Advanced Settings editor does not allow this.

Even though I unchecked the 'save settings' when I added the line

Exitnodes {po}

it remains after I stop and restart TBB both on a Macintosh Snow Leopard 10.6.8 and on Windows 7.

If I delete the line

Exitnodes {po} and check 'save settings'

the line remains in my torrc.

I can find no way to get rid of the line.

I posted this to tortalk, and was advised to file here.

Child Tickets

Change History (7)

comment:1 Changed 6 years ago by sysrqb

Owner: changed from chiiph to sysrqb
Status: newaccepted

Hmmm, manually added options are definitely written to disk regardless of the "Save settings" checkbox. Do you know if this worked in older versions?

I'm not sure if this is a Vidalia bug that it actually sends SAVECONF somewhere along the path or if Tor flushes its in-memory config at some point.

comment:2 Changed 6 years ago by mwolfe

Before TBB, I manually edited the torrc file when I needed to access country-restricted resources.

When I started doing this in TBB, I found the advanced option ‘edit torrc’ is the only easy way to get to the torrc. As soon as I started doing this, I noticed that it is impossible to delete any commands. The editor does not allow me to comment out a command. If I delete the line from the torrc, it keeps the command wherever it stores such things and so the command line remains in the torrc, and if I try to replace a command with a different command, I get both command lines in the new torrc.

It looks like TBB creates a databased storage for the commands in torrc and writes the torrc from the database. The lines seem to be indexed by the commandname. If a command in the editor is a key in the database, it edits the parameters of the command in the database. If it does NOT see a command in the editor, the command is left undisturbed in the database, and TBB reinserts that command into the torrc it creates when TBB is started, or when torrc is edited. If the editor sees a new command, it adds that command and its parameters to the database, and there is no way to ever get rid of it.

Basically, for resources NOT country-restricted, I prefer to have no Exitnodes line in my torrc, but, having put it in, I can find absolutely no way to get it out in TBB, and I suspect that’s been true since TBB first came out, at least in the Mac and Windows versions (I don’t have any other Unixes).

comment:3 Changed 5 years ago by sysrqb

Status: acceptednew

comment:4 Changed 5 years ago by sysrqb

Owner: sysrqb deleted
Status: newassigned

comment:5 Changed 10 months ago by teor

Severity: Normal

Set all open tickets without a severity to "Normal"

comment:6 Changed 9 months ago by teor

Status: assignednew

Mark all tickets that are assigned to nobody as "new".

comment:7 Changed 4 months ago by gk

Resolution: wontfix
Status: newclosed

We don't have Vidalia anymore, so closing.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.